Stephanie Manchipp

steph 2011

It is with great sadness that I report the death of Stephanie Manchipp, our Vice Chairman and Exhibition & Publicity Officer. Steph was diagnosed with cancer in October 2011. She had a successful operation to remove a kidney and tumour, but sadly the cancer proved to be very aggressive. Stephanie died on January 2nd 2012.

Stephanie trained at Reigate School of Art and Design. She set up in a practice as an illustrator becoming a full member of The Society of Industrial Artists and Designers in 1971. .After a successful career in illustration for 30 years, she then concentrated on painting in watercolour, oils, acrylic, pastels and oil pastels with a variety of subjects. Stephanie was a very talented artist, exhibiting in many galleries and jointly with her husband Ben, at their Annual Summer Exhibition in the Gallery at Denbies` Vineyard in Dorking.

Stephanie joined SOFA in October 1997. She soon became a member on the Selection Committee and then as Publicity& Exhibition Officer on the Main Committee. In this post she worked tirelessly to secure regional exhibitions with her friendly, but efficient and professional approach. An example of her winning ways was persuading the owner of the Yoko Gallery in Harrogate to arrange pick up and return of members paintings from her house in Reigate at no cost to the Society.

When I became Chairman, Steph agreed to be my Vice Chairman. She was always thinking of ways to improve the Society, always enthusiastic and supportive. Finding the time for SOFA, despite her busy private schedule. Steph was a happy, generous loving person with a wicked sense of humour, her e-mails could liven up any humdrum subject. I shall certainly miss them as will all of the Committee. A very talented artist, but modest in her achievements. I think SOFA is fortunate that she produced such a good design for the logo competition last year, which is her legacy to the Society.

Stephanie gave a lot of time and energy to the Society, so on behalf of SOFA I am sending a donation of £50 to her chosen charity St. Catherine’s Hospice Crawley, where she spent her last days.

Kay Young, Chairman


3 thoughts on “Stephanie Manchipp

  1. My sincere condolences to Stephanie’s family. Although I didn’t know her I felt immense sadness at the loss of such a giving and talented artist and person. As a fellow artist I think it’s always a sad thing that with their passing there will never be any more of their art for us to see, but it’s special too because artists always leave the footprint of their lives forever with the art they leave behind. How good is it that she has left a lasting legacy of her presence with that wonderful SOFA logo.

    Cheer and best wishes to all her friends at SOFA.
    Cynthia House

      1. This way way after her passing. But due to ill health I paid little attention to last years SOFA event. My brochure arrived to today and I saw none of her work. So I googled and this came up.
        I am privileged to own 2 of her pieces ‘watching my back’ and ‘quiet corner’ I had some correspondence with her and met her in 2008. She was an amazing person and a stunning cat artist. I am deeply saddened I can never again be able to own any more of her work.

Leave a comment